The First Day of Sun

Last year I spent the summer pregnant with my third daughter.

I spent the spring planting season, my favorite time of year in the garden, sick.

I spent the fall harvest season, my second favorite time of year, swollen.

I spent the summer weeding season, never my favorite on a good day, not weeding.

My poor husband tried to keep up for a while, but with the house and the kids to help take care of, not to mention his wife, he too let the garden go.

It was a sad year for vegetation on our little plot.

This year we are taking it back. Already the weeds are coming out, fresh dirt is going in, and a green row of seedlings is tucked in.

I have spent more time weeding today than I have in years. I am going to learn to like weeding. If not like it, then at least to tolerate it.

Weeding should be something I can find joy in. After all, it is exactly how I write. Things flourish across the page, then I come through and ruthlessly hack out all the junk; sometimes to the point where there is nothing left at all. Then I tuck in new things and let them grow.

Leave a comment